For the first time in Asia, the world championship 2010 in team freediving.

Every second year A.I.D.A international organizes the team world championship in freediving. The most prestigious freediving event of the year gathering the worlds best teams. This year Japan will host the event.

This ten day event starting 30th June will be held of the Maede cape in Okinawa in waters with up to 30 meters visibility. The competition consist of performances in three disciplines: depth, distance and time. Each of the three team athletes perform in all three disciplines and the nine results are added in to total points.

Last years winners was France (men) and Russia (women).

Registration is now open for the for the 40 member countries of AIDA international.

Attendance fee: 650 dollars + about 50 dollars/ night accommodation

If you can not form a team of three men or three women you may register a mixed team (that will compete in the mens category).


AIDA World Championship history

1st – Bay of Villefranche, France 1996
Winner: ITALY

2nd – Sardinia, Italy 1998
Winner: ITALY

3rd – Ibiza, Spain 2001
Winner men: ITALY
Winner women: CANADA

4th – Vancouver, Canada 2004
Winner men: GERMANY
Winner women: CANADA

5th – Hurghada, Egypt 2006
From now on with three disciplines
Winner men: DENMARK
Winner women: RUSSIA

6th – Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt 2008
Winner men: FRANCE
Second Place: Czech Republic
Third Place: Finland

Winner women: RUSSIA
Second Place: USA
Third Place: Japan